First Impressions of New York City

Jacqueline Coughlin
7 min readNov 4, 2018
10th Avenue seen from The Highline © Jacqueline Abela

I visited New York City for the first time in December 2018. I was turning 30 that month, so I felt that New York would be an epic place to be for the milestone birthday. I had always wanted to experience a white Christmas as well, since I’m used to an Australian Christmas where heatwaves and prawn cocktails are plentiful.

I was there for 2 weeks, staying in Chelsea. Let’s just say it was a mixed experience. These were my first impressions about the city and its occupants.

They’re serious about security. More so than I expected.

Radio City Music Hall © Jacqueline Abela

I arrived at JFK an hour and a half later than expected. We had tickets to the Rockettes and there was no time for me to go to the hotel to check-in. I took a cab straight to Midtown and walked up to a security guard at Radio City Music Hall. I travel with a carry-on backpack only, so I asked her if there was a cloakroom where I could check in the bag for the duration of the show. “Ma’am, if you try to bring that bag inside, I will throw it out onto the curb.” Luckily, my friends were staying at an apartment nearby, so Stew took my bag and ran the two blocks to put it inside. Then we queued to get our…

--

--