You Don’t Have to Hit Rock Bottom to Make a Change

Jacqueline Coughlin
4 min readNov 1, 2018

When I think of hitting rock bottom, I always think of the movie Bridesmaids. Annie thinks she has hit her rock bottom but, in true movie form, things get even worse until she realizes when she has truly made it to the bottom. Her insightful mother drops this pearl of wisdom, “I’m telling you, hitting bottom is a good thing. Because there’s nowhere to go but up.”

“rocky coastline facing rippling body of water” by Dan Aragón on Unsplash

As someone who has hit rock bottom multiple times, both in small and big ways, I know how life changing and empowering it can be to rebuild from that place. For example, I have been in a casual job that didn’t pay enough to make ends meet and I had to pay for petrol on credit. Rock bottom was when I wasn’t going to be able to pay my next rent payment. The day after I spoke to my landlord, I received the job offer I was hoping for.

Having been in rock bottom situations and come through the other side a better person, I know that these rock bottoms have made me the person I am today. But I also know that you don’t have to wait for these moments to occur before you do something that you have always wanted to do.

Looking back on these moments, all of the outcomes were things that I wanted and knew I should be doing, but I just didn’t have the motivation there to push me into them before the situation became challenging.

--

--